CAMRA bubble logo

Pub of the Year competition 2019

Pub of the Year

Southern Hampshire CAMRA runs the annual Pub of the Year competition in order to recognise the pub which our members believe to be the best real ale pub in the area. This is also the first stage in a series of competitions which help decide the CAMRA national Pub of the Year.

Voting is OPEN! ...until 15th January 2019 at 16:00


Access denied – You need to log in with your CAMRA credentials to access this page. If you don't know your CAMRA login details go to where there are log in hints, or just request a password reset email to your registered email address. If you can log in to the national site but not here then please email the webmasters.

How we select our Pub of the Year

In October 2014, we voted at our branch meeting to change our Pub of the Year selection process, aligning the selection criteria with that which will be applied in subsequent rounds of CAMRA's national Pub of the Year competition (which judges a pub on many criteria including: Quality of Beer/Cider/Perry, Style, Décor, Furnishing, Cleanliness, Service, Welcome, Product Offering, Community Focus, and Atmosphere). The online voting will now be used between November and January each year to vote for a short-list of four finalist pubs.

Only pubs that have been nominated for the next Good Beer Guide through our Pub Reports mechanism will be eligible for voting. Votes can be made by both members of Southern Hampshire CAMRA and members of our land-based neighbouring branches (in order to ensure fairness for pubs near our branch borders). After the short-listed finalist pubs have been determined, a team of four judges will each visit all four of the pubs and judge them against CAMRA's national Pub of the Year criteria.

Votes are predominantly made online, but card-carrying CAMRA members of eligible branches can also vote in person at our branch meetings.

Previous winners

See our Awards page for our full list of awards. However, recent winners of the Southern Hampshire Pub of the year have been:

Pub of the Year Results
YearPub Name
2018Guide Dog, Bevois Valley
2017Bookshop Alehouse, Southampton
2016Royal Oak, Fritham
2015Flowerpots Inn, Cheriton
2014Guide Dog, Bevois Valley
2013Black Horse, West Tytherley
2012Guide Dog, Bevois Valley
2011Wheatsheaf Inn, Shedfield
2010Guide Dog, Bevois Valley
2009Guide Dog, Bevois Valley
2008Guide Dog, Bevois Valley
2007Guide Dog, Bevois Valley
2006South Western Arms, St. Denys
2005Guide Dog, Bevois Valley
2004South Western Arms, St. Denys
2003South Western Arms, St. Denys
2002South Western Arms, St. Denys


Printer friendly version (reduced menus & clutter)